How to use the editor

How to use the editor and what are the features of the editor.

    • How to use the editor

    This is how the editor tool looks like : 

    The editor is organised as a table. On the left column, you have the source language of the translation and on the right side, you have the source language text translated in the target language. The translated text is cut into segments to give you the possibility to revise the translation at your own speed. 

    When you click on a segment, you get an overview of the number of words and characters it contains, and its segment number at the bottom left of the table. 

      • Confirm a segment

    You can confirm a segment to indicate you agree with the translated content and keep track of your revision progression. To confirm a segment, you simply click on the red cross in the column next to the target language, the red cross would then turn into a green validation mark, the segment is now confirmed.  

      • Unconfirm a segment

    By default, each segment is unconfirmed. 

    You always have the possibility to unconfirm the confirmed segment by clicking on the green validation mark, the green validation mark would then reverse to the red cross and therefore unconfirm your segment. 

      • Finish revision

    By clicking on “Finish revision” in the top left corner of the editor tool, you confirm that you are approving the quality of translation of your project. Once you click on it, you will no longer be able to have access to the editor of this project, you should therefore make sure that you are fully satisfied with the translation provided. Please note that you are not allowed to finish the revision if one or more of the segments are not confirmed and therefore have a red cross. 

      • Save draft

    By clicking on “Save draft” in the top left corner of the editor tool, you are making sure that the progress you are making in the revision of the translation does not get lost. You can then for example work on the revision of another of your projects and come back to the one you saved at a later point. 

      • Edit button

    The "edit" button under the "Finish revision" and "Save draft" buttons in the top left corner of the editor tool gives you the option to either "confirm all segments" at once or "unconfirm all segments" and therefore reset your progression. 

    By clicking on “Confirm all segments”, all the red crosses of the segments will turn into a green validation mark, by doing that you are confirming that you are agreeing with the translation provided to you. You can always turn a green validation mark into a red cross simply by clicking on it.

    By clicking on "unconfirm all segments", all the green validation marks of the segments will turn into a red cross. By doing that, you are resetting your revision to its default version and therefore reset all your progress. 

      • Filter source text  & Filter target text 

    You have the possibility to filter your source text or your target text by adding a word or a sentence in the filter field. Only the content with the searched word or sentence would then appear. Note that you can either filter the source text or the target text, not both at the same time. 

    • The right side section

    Depending on the service your are using, the options on the right section of the editor would vary. 

      • Chat feature


    In the case of Translation and Translation + Review, you have the possibility to chat with the translator that was in charge of the translation and in charge of the review directly in the editor tool. A question? A concern? Something is not clear? Simply write your message in the input, send it and wait for the answer of your translator(s).

    As no translators are involved with the Translate Yourself process, the chat feature is not enabled. 

      • Search feature 

    The search feature is always accessible, no matter which services you have chosen. 

    You can use the search field during your revision to look up words and see if they match your Translation Memory (TM) and/or your Term Bank (TB). All matches found will then be highlighted in the source or target section of your content.

    Translation Memory : If you have an existing Translation Memory, you can add it to your EasyTranslate account so that it is used for upcoming translation projects. If you do not, we will help you set it up so that all your translations henceforth will be registered in your Translation Memory. This means that translated segments can be reused when they come up again in new projects, to ensure consistency throughout your multilingual content. 

    Term Bank : You define your own Term Bank, to communicate linguistic preferences with your team of translators. When using the Editor tool to translate your content, translators will automatically receive suggestions from your Term Bank to make sure that they are translating in a way that fits with your brand identity.